top of page

Board of Directors

Charles K. Thompson - Chairman

Mr. Thompson is currently a Managing Partner of PinHigh Capital Partners, a Houston-based family office affiliated investment partnership with a focus on smaller private oil service and E & P investments. Mr. Thompson spent two years at Nomura Securities building the oil and gas investment banking business. From 2004-2014 he was an original partner of Legacy Partners Group, a boutique M&A firm based in NY that was sold to FBR Capital Markets in the fall of 2007. Mr. Thompson remained at FBR to run the energy investment banking practice where the focus was small cap oil service and E&P M&A and capital raising. From 1995-2003, he worked at CSFB in the energy investment banking group, where he was a Managing Director in the energy group. From 1990-1995, he was with Banque Paribas, where he helped found the energy group, helped build the commodity derivatives finance group and invested in oil and gas properties. Mr. Thompson began his career as a commercial banker at Manufacturers Hanover Trust Company. He holds a B.A. in geology from Williams College and attended the Columbia Business School summer program.

David J. Nightingale

Mr. Nightingale, has served as the Chief Executive Officer of CIG Logistics since March 6, 2020. He previously served as the Executive Vice President, Wellsite Services of Select Energy Services, Inc. (“Select”) from November 2017 through March 29, 2019. Prior to Select’s merger with Rockwater Energy Solutions, Inc. (“Rockwater”) in November 2017, Mr. Nightingale served as the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Rockwater from June 2015 through the merger date and, prior thereto, as Rockwater’s Senior Vice President, Fluids Management and Executive Vice President, Water Management. Prior to joining Rockwater, he served as the President of I.E. Miller, a former subsidiary of Complete Production Services, in Houston, Texas. Mr. Nightingale worked at Complete Production Services for seven years in a variety of leadership roles, including running the company’s rig and heavy equipment moving division and a well servicing subsidiary in the Rocky Mountain region. Prior to that, he spent over 25 years in a number of engineering and operating management roles at several energy and midstream companies. Mr. Nightingale obtained his B.S. in Civil Engineering from Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois, and his M.B.A. from the University of Houston.

Lawrence First

Mr. First currently serves as the Chief Investment Officer and Managing Director of Ascribe. He joined Ascribe in 2008 and, prior thereto, was a Managing Director and Co-Portfolio Manager in Merrill Lynch’s Principal Credit Group, a proprietary investing platform for the firm’s capital, where he was responsible for evaluating and managing assets in the team’s North American portfolio, including non-investment grade bank loans, stressed/distressed fixed income investments and public and private equity. Prior to joining Merrill Lynch in 2003, Mr. First was a senior partner in the Bankruptcy and Restructuring department of the law firm of Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP, where he began his legal career in 1987. At Fried Frank, he represented both debtors and creditors in both in-court and out-of-court restructurings as well as lenders to, investors in, and potential buyers and sellers of, financially troubled companies. Prior to his joining Fried Frank’s Bankruptcy and Restructuring department, he was a member of its Corporate Department, where he became a partner in 1994. On behalf of Ascribe, Mr. First currently serves on the boards of directors of Forbes Energy Services, Ltd. since 2017, Geokinetics Inc. since 2013, Engineering Solutions & Products, LLC since November 2013 and Big Run, Inc. since March 2018. He previously served as a director of Alion Science and Technology Corp. from August 2014 until August 2015 and EnviroSolutions Inc. from July 2010 to March 2018. Mr. First, age 56, received a Bachelor of Arts in History and Sociology from Haverford College, and a Juris Doctor from New York University School of Law. He also attended the London School of Economics.

Michael Y. McGovern

Mr. McGovern is currently the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Sherwood Energy, LLC, an aggregator of hydrocarbon reserves through direct ownership of working interests in oil and natural gas leases and currently serves as a Director for Cactus Wellhead, LLC, a manufacturer and servicer of pressure control equipment for offshore and onshore oil and gas production. From 2008 through 2017, Mr. McGovern has served as a director to the following public and private companies operating in the oil and gas and energy industries: Probe Holding Inc., a designer and manufacturer of measurement tools and systems for the global energy industry (2014-2017); Quicksilver Resources Inc., an oil and gas exploration and development company (2013-2016); Long Run Exploration Ltd., an oil and gas acquisition and exploration company (2008-2013); Columbia Chemical Company, a global provider of high quality carbon black additives (2010-2011); and Tronox, Inc. a global producer and marketer of titanium dioxide which is used such as paint, plastic and sunscreen. From September 2002 to August 2007, Mr. McGovern served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Pioneer Companies, a chemical manufacturing company. From 1986 through 2002, Mr. McGovern served as Chief Executive Officer of a series of publicly listed oil and gas exploration and production companies: Coho Energy, Inc. (2000-2002); Edisto Resources Corporation (1993-1997); Convest Energy Corporation (1993-1997); Ironstone Group, Inc. (1986-1993); and American Natural Petroleum Company (1986-1993). From 1998 to March 2000, Mr. McGovern was Managing Director of Pembrook Capital Corporation, an energy investment company. Mr. McGovern has also previously served as Chairman of Vermillion Bay Exploration, Inc. and Executive Advisor to Cadent Energy Partners. Mr. McGovern holds a B.S. from Centenary College and attended the Freeman School of Business at Tulane University from 1973-1974 and the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law from 1979-

bottom of page